Southerton Re-elected to Board


Timothy M. Southerton, a teacher from the Sayville Union Free School District, was unanimously re-elected to the Retirement Board at the Annual Meeting of NYSTRS Delegates held Nov. 1 and 2 in Saratoga Springs.

First elected in 2011, Southerton serves on the Board's Audit and Disability Review committees. Southerton is president of the Sayville Teachers Association, a trustee of the Sayville Employees Trust Fund, and a member of the supervisory committee and pension board of the Teachers Federal Credit Union. He earned his Master's degrees from SUNY Stony Brook and Long Island University-C.W. Post College, and a Bachelor’s from SUNY College at Cortland.

There are three teacher members on the 10-member Board, the others being Paul J. Farfaglia of Jordan-Elbridge and Jolene T. DiBrango of Pittsford. Board Vice President David P. Keefe of Hempstead is the retired teacher representative.

NYSTRS Board members serve without compensation and represent various constituents, including active and retired members, school administrators and school boards. They are responsible as fiduciaries to protect the long-term value of the System's investment portfolio, providing benefit security for its more than 426,000 active and retired members.

Back to top