Delegates Do Double Duty


(Nov. 21, 2014) – For the second time in four years, delegates attending the Annual Meeting of NYSTRS Delegates in Saratoga Springs Nov. 9 and 10 had the unusual privilege of electing multiple teacher members to the System's Retirement Board.

Paul J. Farfaglia of the Jordan-Elbridge School District was re-elected to his third term and Jolene T. DiBrango of the Pittsford Central School District was elected to the seat vacated hours earlier by Karen E. Magee, who resigned from the Board to focus on her duties as NYSUT president. Both Farfaglia and DiBrango are Tier 4 members.

Teacher members serve staggered three-year terms on the Board. Traditionally, only one teacher member is elected each year.

First elected in 2008, Farfaglia chairs the Board's Compensation and Disability Review committees, and serves on the Investment Committee. A graduate of LeMoyne College and SUNY Oswego, Mr. Farfaglia is a long-time teacher.

DiBrango began her teaching career in 1994 in the Canandaigua City School District and has spent the majority of her career in Pittsford, where she teaches sixth grade. A graduate of New Hartford High School, SUNY Oswego and Nazareth College, she holds three teaching certifications and serves as president of the Pittsford District Teachers Association.

Tim Southerton of Sayville is the other active teacher on the 10-member Retirement Board. Board Vice President David P. Keefe of Hempstead is the retired teacher representative.

NYSTRS Board members serve without compensation and represent various constituents, including active and retired members, school administrators and school boards. They are responsible as fiduciaries to protect the long-term value of the System's investment portfolio, providing benefit security for its nearly 426,000 active and retired members.

Back to top